What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Sodbury and Yate Business Association Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors Yate Shopping Centre GR Autoservices Active

What's on


Thursday 8th November 2018, 7.00pm

Medieval Cathedrals as Time Machines

Winterbourne Medieval Barn

7-9pm, 1000 Years of History: Medieval Cathedrals as Time Machines - talk by Jon Cannon of Bristol University

Jon Cannon is an established author and the presenter of the critically acclaimed BBC TV documentary ‘How to Build a Cathedral’. He is a Research Associate of the History of Art department at the University of Bristol and a Lay Canon (Keeper of the Fabric) at Bristol Cathedral.

This illustrated lecture uses the English cathedrals as ‘time machines’ to the medieval period, tracing their story in photographs, manuscripts and paintings, from the revolutionary birth of English Christianity about 600AD, through the great rebuilding that followed the Conquest of 1066, the invention of gothic art a century later, the cults and traumas of the fourteenth century, backdrop to England’s most extraordinary architectural miracles, and into the dynastic struggles of the late medieval era which eventually tore apart the very world that created the cathedrals. The lecture will be tailored to include the specific story of Winterbourne and its connections with Bristol cathedral in the overall narrative.

FREE, but numbers limited and tickets required from TicketSource using the link below

For further details about Winterbourne Medieval Barn Trust see website www.winterbournebarn.org.uk and facebook.com/winterbournemedievalbarn.

Registered Charity number 1112908

www.ticketsource.co.uk/whats-on/b...



Venue information

Winterbourne Medieval Barn
Church Lane, Winterbourne, BS36 1SE
www.winterbournebarn.org.uk



Pass & Totterdell Plumbing

Red Door Coaching and Training

Other events

Tuesday 22nd January 2019

Wednesday 23rd January 2019

Thursday 24th January 2019

Friday 25th January 2019

Saturday 26th January 2019

Sunday 27th January 2019

Tuesday 29th January 2019

Wednesday 30th January 2019

Thursday 31st January 2019

Friday 1st February 2019

Saturday 2nd February 2019

Click here for more events.




© 2019 Cromhall Media Ltd