What's onValentine'sLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors Yate Shopping Centre Active GR Autoservices Sodbury and Yate Business Association The Swan, Tytherington

What's on


Saturday 14th September 2019, 10:00am

Heritage Open Days

St Michael's Parish Church, Winterbourne

Saturday 14 September 10am – 12noon and Sunday 15 September 2 – 5pm

The Grade I listed Parish Church of St Michael dating from the late 12th century is still in use every week. The church with its 14th century tower and spire, contains much of interest. There are important 14th century wall paintings, several effigies and a brass, all commissioned by Sir Thomas Bradeston, a supporter of Edward III. The tower contains a ring of six bells, the heaviest weighing just over 1 ton, all cast in 1757. CCTV coverage will be available to show the bells in action; the tower will be open for visits to the ringing chamber. There will be displays on bell ringing and an opportunity to have a go. Trail for children.

Access: Most of the area is wheelchair accessible.

Refreshments available.

www.fromesidechurches.org.uk



Venue information

St Michael's Parish Church, Winterbourne
Church Lane, Winterbourne
www.stmichaelswinterbourne.org.uk



Yate Outdoor Sports Complex

The Swan, Tytherington

Other events

Tuesday 28th January 2020

Wednesday 29th January 2020

Thursday 30th January 2020

Saturday 1st February 2020

Sunday 2nd February 2020

Tuesday 4th February 2020

Wednesday 5th February 2020

Thursday 6th February 2020

Click here for more events.




© 2020 Cromhall Media Ltd