What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeaturedCoronavirus
Contact usPost an event
GR Autoservices Yate Shopping Centre The Swan, Tytherington Active Sodbury and Yate Business Association How to advertise your business here Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors

What's on


Tuesday 8th December 2020, 7.00pm

Online Talk: Magic in Medieval Communities

Winterbourne Medieval Barn

In medieval England, magic and the supernatural were a part of everyday life. In this talk Dr Tabitha Stanmore will explore what role magic played in medieval people's everyday lives, what it was used for, how far it was trusted or feared, and how it affected community relationships. She will look at common spells and beliefs, and consider what this can tell us about the past.

Tabitha is an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Bristol, where she researches practical or 'service' magic in late medieval and early modern England. She completed her PhD, entitled Love Spells and Lost Spoons: practical magic in English society c. 1350-1650, in 2019 at the Universities of Bristol and Exeter. Tabitha has spoken on BBC Radio and The Folklore Podcast about her research, and is currently working on her first book.

www.winterbournebarn.org.uk/events/



Venue information

Winterbourne Medieval Barn
Church Lane, Winterbourne, BS36 1SE
www.winterbournebarn.org.uk



Chipping Sodbury Motor Company

Yate Outdoor Sports Complex

Other events

Thursday 28th January 2021

Friday 29th January 2021

Sunday 31st January 2021

Monday 1st February 2021

Tuesday 2nd February 2021

Wednesday 3rd February 2021

Thursday 4th February 2021

Friday 5th February 2021

Sunday 7th February 2021

Monday 8th February 2021

Click here for more events.


Twitter @myyate
 
 


© 2021 Cromhall Media Ltd