What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeaturedCoronavirus
Contact usPost an event
Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors How to advertise your business here Sodbury and Yate Business Association GR Autoservices Yate Shopping Centre Razzamataz

What's on


Tuesday 22nd March 2022, 7:00pm

Talk: Hatters in Times of Radical Change

Winterbourne Medieval Barn

Talk: Hatters in Times of Radical Change

Join Peter Bruce to find out more about the history of hatting in our local area.

Hatting was a lucrative artisan skilled trade, so Winterbourne and surroundings did very well when work boomed from the 1760s and the village of Watleys End was built as a 'greenfield' hatting village. Later, mechanisation de-skilled the trades and locals rejected this process for a few decades. So the industry changed and moved to mills up North with a more compliant workforce. Social, economic, political, agricultural and technological reforms during this period were huge and the hatting industry played a large part in this with lessons for our future.

Refreshments available. Free parking on site.
Tickets £5 to come to the talk in person, or for Livestream. Book online at Ticketsource via the Barn website. For the livestream, we will email you the Zoom joining link at 6pm.

www.winterbournebarn.org.uk/events/



Venue information

Winterbourne Medieval Barn
Church Lane, Winterbourne, BS36 1SE
www.winterbournebarn.org.uk



The Swan, Tytherington

The Boundary

Other events

Thursday 27th January 2022

Friday 28th January 2022

Saturday 29th January 2022

Sunday 30th January 2022

Tuesday 1st February 2022

Wednesday 2nd February 2022

Thursday 3rd February 2022

Saturday 5th February 2022

Sunday 6th February 2022

Monday 7th February 2022

Tuesday 8th February 2022

Click here for more events.




© 2022 Cromhall Media Ltd